Southeast Ireland | County Wexford
St. Mary's Abbey is a ruin of Augustinian monastery located in historic village of Ferns, founded by King Dermot MacMurrough in 1158, who died in 1171 and was buried in abbey grounds. The monastery was built on the site of an Early Christian settlement founded by St Aidan in AD 598, which was repeatedly plundered by the Vikings between years 834 and 937, and finally destroyed by fire. St. Mary's Abbey functioned until 1539, when under the dissolution of the monasteries was reverted to King of England. Only the north wall of the nave, chancel and tower survived until today. The tower is very unique, it is square at the base and round from about halfway up. On the nearby graveyard, there is base of ancient stone cross, which is believed to be grave of Dermot MacMurrough, King of Leinster.
- OPENING HOURS AND TICKETS :
- Freely accessible
- CAR PARK :
- Town car park