East Ireland | County Dublin
Poolbeg Lighthouse is situated at the end of Great South Wall (one of the longest sea-walls in Europe), which enters the Dublin Bay and keeps the inflowing sand away from the port. The lighthouse was established in 1768, and until 1786 operated on candlepower, then was changed to oil, and in 1820 was rebuilt into its present form and painted red. It 's one of three lighthouses of Dublin Port. Now Poolbeg Lighthouse is an automated station, managed by Dublin Port Company, and not like most of Irish lighthouses by the Commissioners of Irish Lights.
Stroll along the Great South Wall, ending at the Poolbeg Lighthouse is popular attraction among Dubliners, as well as visiting tourists. That is because, the red, picturesque lighthouse occupies an almost central position of Dublin Bay, with fantastic view of Dún Laoghaire, Howth, Bull Island and Dublin Mountains.