Cape Clear Island, County Cork Fanad Head Lighthouse, County Donegal Valentia Island, County Kerry Puffin, Great Skellig, County Kerry Birds Carrowmore, County Sligo Clogher Strand, County Kerry Benbulben , County Sligo Roscommon Castle, County Roscommon Dún Beag Fort, County Kerry Seals Howth Harbour Lighthouse, County Dublin Sheep Fields Puffins, Saltee Island, County Wexford Boat, Cape Clear Island, County Cork Baily Lighthouse, Howth Head, County Dublin Fields Great Skellig, County Kerry
Corcomroe Abbey

Corcomroe Abbey

West Ireland | County Clare

Corcomroe Abbey, located in the north of the Burren region (aprox 8km east of Ballyvaughan), County Clare, is an early 13th-century Cistercian monastery of which the foundation is attributed either to Donal Mór Ua Briain (Donald O'Brien), or his successor Donough Cairbreach. They were chieftains of the powerful O'Brien clan and the founders of many other religious structures in the historic Thomond region. a In reference to the Burren's fertile soil, the Latin name "Santa Maria de Petra Fertilis" (St. Mary of Fertile Rock) has long been associated with the abbey. Corcomroe is noted for its outstanding masonry works, detailed carvings, and rich ornamentation, which are not commonly found in structures from this period. The north wall of the chancel has a arched recess containing tomb (effigy of Irish chieftain carved in limestone slab) which is believed to belong to Conor na Siudaine Ua Briain (Conor O'Brien), King of Thomond who died in nearby battle in 1268 and supposedly was buried here. After the dissolution of churches by King Henry VIII in 16th century Corcomroe Abbey began to decline but at least till 1628 shortended community of monks continued to worship here and to maintain the monastery fields.

    • Freely accessible
  • CAR PARK :
    • Yes

Photos from Corcomroe Abbey